Using our Heritage to Shape the Future

History of The Gower

The Gower Building

Comprehensive History Memories of the Gower

 

 

1873 – 2014, A brief history ….

Built in the year 1873, and opened on the 25th April as a hospital at a cost of £2,400, The original building stood at about 140 ft. by 20 ft.

Built by local builder Mr J. Millington and designed by Architect Mr Joseph Fogerty

All of the above named can be seen on the foundation stone, on the right of the main entrance.

701984_10153518734848435_1879499804283308582_o  IMG_5940

Sold to the education board in 1879 and then extended in 1895 to increase the class room size. The building after extensions to each end then stood at approx. 200ft by 20ft

The building ceased to function as a school in or around 1961-2 and a year later reopened as the Oakengates and district youth club, eventually changing to Gower street youth club.

The building closed down around 2004-5 due to the cost of building maintenance and lay derelict until 2013 where the community of St. Georges set about saving this iconic local building …..

 

In 2014 the building was registered as a Grade 2 listed building by English Heritage, we would like to thank local resident Steve Goodchild for his fantastic work in securing the listing: Listed Building NotificationReport

 

Please click on the link at the top of the page for a more detailed history.

History of The Gower January 27, 2016